These 76 cities just adopted the Paris climate deal in defiance of Trump

By: Jamie Green

Mayors of 76 cities across the U.S. are defying President Trump’s withdrawal from the Paris climate agreement.

In a post to the blogging platform Medium, the Mayors National Climate Action Agenda, also known as Climate Mayors, announced their intent to uphold the United States’ end of the Paris accords within their own jurisdictions, despite Trump’s exiting of the agreement on Thursday evening.

As of this writing, the mayors who have signed onto the letter represent roughly 44 million Americans in 30 states (both red and blue) and Washington DC from all regions of the country ranging from the Deep South to the Pacific Northwest. In the letter, the mayors pledge to use their office to encourage the reduction of greenhouse gases through investments in sustainable energy infrastructure and city planning.

“We will continue to lead. We are increasing investments in renewable energy and energy efficiency. We will buy and create more demand for electric cars and trucks. We will increase our efforts to cut greenhouse gas emissions, create a clean energy economy, and stand for environmental justice,” the letter reads. “[I]f the President wants to break the promises made to our allies enshrined in the historic Paris Agreement, we’ll build and strengthen relationships around the world to protect the planet from devastating climate risks.”

See if your city’s mayor is on the list of signatories below. If not, send this link to your city’s mayor and ask them to sign onto the letter.

Mayor Eric Garcetti
City of Los Angeles, CA

Mayor Martin J Walsh
City of Boston, MA

Mayor Bill de Blasio
New York City, NY

Mayor Sylvester Turner
City of Houston, TX

Mayor Madeline Rogero
City of Knoxville, TN

Mayor Rahm Emanuel
City of Chicago, IL

Mayor Ed Murray
City of Seattle, WA

Mayor Jim Kenney
City of Philadelphia, PA

Mayor Kasim Reed
City of Atlanta, GA

Mayor Lioneld Jordan
City of Fayetteville, AR

Mayor Kathy Sheehan
City of Albany, NY

Mayor Christopher Taylor
City of Ann Arbor, MI

Mayor Van W Johnson
City of Apalachicola, FL

Mayor Susan Ornelas
City of Arcata, CA

Mayor Esther Manheimer
City of Asheville, NC

Mayor Steve Skadron
City of Aspen, CO

Mayor Steve Adler
City of Austin, TX

Mayor Jesse Arreguin
City of Berkeley, CA

Mayor John Hamilton
City of Bloomington, IN

Mayor Suzanne Jones
City of Boulder, CO

Mayor Miro Weinberger
City of Burlington, VT

Mayor Pam Hemminger
City of Chapel Hill, NC

Mayor Jennifer Roberts
City of Charlotte, NC

Mayor Mary Casillas Salas
City of Chula Vista, CA

Mayor Stephen K Benjamin
City of Columbia, SC

Mayor Jeffrey Cooper
Culver City, CA

Mayor Michael Hancock
City of Denver, CO

Mayor Josh Maxwell
City of Downingtown, PA

Mayor Roy D Buol
City of Dubuque, IA

Mayor William V Bell
City of Durham, NC

Mayor David Kaptain
City of Elgin, IL

Mayor Lucy Vinis
City of Eugene, OR

Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson
City of Gary, IN

Mayor Steven M Fulop
Jersey City, NJ

Mayor Sly James
Kansas City, MO

Mayor Adam Paul
City of Lakewood, CO

Mayor Mark Stodola
City of Little Rock, AR

Mayor Robert Garcia
City of Long Beach, CA

Mayor Dennis Coombs
City of Longmont, CO

Mayor Philip Levine
City of Miami Beach, FL

Mayor Tom Barrett
City of Milwaukee, WI

Mayor Mark Gamba
City of Milwaukie, OR

Mayor Betsy Hodges
City of Minneapolis, MN

Mayor Jon Mitchell
City of New Bedford, MA

Mayor Mitch Landrieu
City of New Orleans, LA

Mayor Libby Schaaf
City of Oakland, CA

Mayor Buddy Dyer
City of Orlando, FL

Mayor Greg Scharff
City of Palo Alto, CA

Mayor Jack Thomas
Park City, UT

Mayor Greg Stanton
City of Phoenix, AZ

Mayor William Peduto
City of Pittsburgh, PA

Mayor Ted Wheeler
City of Portland, OR

Mayor Jorge O Elorza
City of Providence, RI

Mayor Hillary Schieve
City of Reno, NV

Mayor Darrell Steinberg
City of Sacramento, CA

Mayor Christopher Coleman
City of Saint Paul, MN

Mayor Jackie Biskupski
Salt Lake City, UT

Mayor Ed Lee
City of San Francisco, CA

Mayor Sam Liccardo
City of San Jose, CA

Mayor Pauline Russo Cutter
City of San Leandro, CA

Mayor Helene Schneider
City of Santa Barbara, CA

Mayor Javier M Gonzales
City of Santa Fe, NM

Mayor Ted Winterer
City of Santa Monica, CA

Mayor Joe Curtatone
City of Somerville, MA

Mayor Scott A Saunders
City of Smithville, TX

Mayor Rick Kriseman
City of St Petersburg, FL

Mayor Stephanie A Miner
City of Syracuse, NY

Mayor Kate Stewart
City of Takoma Park, MD

Mayor Andrew Gillum
City of Tallahassee, FL

Mayor Jim Carruthers
Traverse City, MI

Mayor Jonathan Rothschild
City of Tucson, AZ

Mayor Muriel Bowser
City of Washington, D.C.

Mayor Oscar Rios
City of Watsonville, CA

Mayor Jeri Muoio
City of West Palm Beach, FL

Mayor Christopher Cabaldon
City of West Sacramento, CA

Mayor Allen Joines
City of Winston Salem, NC

Jamie Green is a contributor to the Resistance Report covering the Trump administration, and lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

This article originally appeared on

Similar Posts